• Join the Camping Babble forums today and become an active member of our growing community. Once registered you'll be able to exchange camping photos, stories and experience with other members. If you're still undecided, feel free to take a look around and see what we're all about!

Does anyone homeschool and use camping as being educational?

ashley0323

Novice Camper
The title asks it all. I am homeschooling my children. No matter what we are doing, I try to include some kind of education as well. In what ways would you consider camping as educational?

missyify

Survivalist
I think I commented on one of Grace's posts that was similar? My oldest will start homeschool next year.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

campforums

Founder
Staff member
I have no experience in this matter. But I do know that for many camps outdoor education is a big part of their business during the non-summer seasons. How old are your children, I've read you mention them a few times. Are you considering an excursion to a camp at some point?

happyflowerlady

Survivalist
I was not home-schooled; nor my children; but even so, I do consider that camping, and similar related activities are absolutely educational for children. there is just so much that you. Can learn, and teach your children about nature when you are out camping, as well as practical experience that will serve them in later life.
I started learning about cooking on a campfire by roasting hot dogs on a stick, and also watching my mother make hot cakes, bacon, and eggs for breakfast over the open campfire. Those hot cakes were the best ones I have ever tasted in my whole life ! !
Plus, we would catch and clean fish to cook for dinner, so I learned about doing that. I had swimming lessons at the lakes, learned how to row a boat (and not go around in circles), and had fun hiking in the woods.