• Join the Camping Babble forums today and become an active member of our growing community. Once registered you'll be able to exchange camping photos, stories and experience with other members. If you're still undecided, feel free to take a look around and see what we're all about!

Being prepared?

JessiFox

Novice Camper
I'm very new to camping, in fact the only times I ever have I was a young child and didn't really have much responsibility regarding the whole thing. Now I'm interested in taking my own son, and I'm wondering what are some basic things you'd suggest in terms of preparedness?

Northern Dancer

Survivalist
Well...depending on how old your son is. If he is younger you might want to start him off camping in the backyard, if you have one. If not, try a conservation park near by and make it a weekender. Even one night out could be a good start.

For young campers [and adults too] it is the fear of the unknown. It's interesting how what they have heard and what they have seen on television contributes to the fear factor. Dumb stories of bears and wolves and the like don't help the process. I DO NOT ENCOURAGE ANY STORY OR SUGGESTION that can cause fear [in anyone] when it comes to camping.

Anyway. A feeling of security is important [probably for you too]. That's when it is wise to team up with others for your first experience. It helps with supervision and you can share equipment and costs to keep the expenses down.

Having youngsters share in some of the decision making helps them have ownership and builds excitement. For example, "What kind of food do you think we should bring?" "I think we better go shopping so you can pick out a flashlight." "What do you think, should teddy come along on our trip too?"

I'll stop here and give you sometime to think of some specific questions.

I, along with other Camp Babblers would be happy to share our experience. :)

campforums

Founder
Staff member